Biography Schedule Japanese Mail

Since returning to her home country, Yasuka Nambu has quickly established herself as one of the leading flutists in Japan. Recipient of the 2007 Osaka Arts Award, the 2008 Sakai Tokitada Music Award of the Hyogo Prefecture and the 2009 Kobe City Arts Award, she has performed with the Japan Philharmonic, the Osaka Philharmonic, the Yamagata Symphony Orchestra, the Israel Philharmonic Soloists, the Amadeus Chamber Orchestra of Polish Radio and the Baroqueorchester Arco, Hannover, among others.

Concerts and recitals take her throughout Japan, Germany, China (incl. Hong Kong) and the U.S. She has appeared at the Carnegie Hall (NY) as the NiNa Duo with koto player Yoko Nishi, the Tel Aviv Museum of Art (Israel) °»La Tempesta dei Solisti°… series, and the Expo 2010 Shanghai (China). She has also appeared on MS Asuka II Cruise, the Junko Koshino Collection, NHK-TV (Japan Broadcasting Corporation), and figure skating exhibitions with Japan°«s leading skaters.

She has served as a Visiting Researcher and artist-in-residence of Columbia University, USA (2011), and is currently a Visiting Professor of Ashiya University and a member of the IlluminArt Philharmonic Orchestra.

Born in Tokyo, Yasuka Nambu moved to the U.S. at the age of nine. After graduating from the Juilliard Pre-College, she received her Bachelor of Music degree summa cum laude in two years at the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) on Baur Scholarship. She went on to receive her Master of Music degree, also at CCM on full scholarship, in orchestral conducting. She then went back to her flute studies at the Hochschule fuer Musik und Theater Hannover, Germany, where she studied with Prof. Erdmuthe Boehr to receive her performing arts diploma with the highest mark.

= = = = =

Yasuka Nambu on YouTube:

October 11, 2014 at Denchuji Temple, Tokyo
Autumn Evening - Melancholy and Passion
Flute: Yasuka Nambu
Violin: Reina Nambu
Piano: Marie Takeda

December 6, 2011
"La Tempesta dei Solisti" Series at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Israel
Vivaldi: Concerto in F Major, RV 433 "La Tempesta di mare"
Orchestra: Israel Philharmonic Soloists

Bizet/Borne: Carmen Fantasy
Piano: Ron Regev

June 29, 2012 at the Hyogo Performing Arts Center
M's Music Note, Vol. 1 - Works by Ayako Meida
Ao no Namima ni
The Last Rose of Summer
Soprano: Chisa Tanigaki
Violin: Rino Negaki
Piano: Ayako Meida

I am currently taking a maternity break.
Please check back for upcoming concerts, which I will post as soon as I'm back in the scene!

TOP Privacy Poricy